Ribbon Corsets: Ideas Magazine competition entry

So it’s been a while…

Anyway, moving right on, here are my competition entries for the Ideas Magazine’s 2012 be creative or whatever competition. I didn’t win (heck, I wasn’t even a finalist….nor did I receive so much as a “thank you for trying, we have received your entry” acknowledgement), so I’ll post it here for other people to see.

Blue and cream satin ribbon corset

I adapted the pattern I have previously used from Corsets: Historical Patterns & Techniques by Jill Salen and made some pictures of the steps I followed:

Step 2 of the ribbon corset: Cutting out the pieces.

Step 2: Cutting out the pieces.

 

Step 3 of the ribbon corset: pinning it all together.

Step 3: pinning it all together.

 

Step 4 of the ribbon corset: Sewing it all up.

Step 4: Sewing it all up.

 

Step 5 of the ribbon corset: Insert the boning.

Step 5: Insert the boning. I used cable ties because the original version contains whalebone, which is closer to cable ties than to steel. Steel bones also make the line of the waist look straighter and less voluptuous.

 

Step 6 of the ribbon corset: Inserting eyelets and laces.

Step 6: Inserting eyelets and laces.

Being very ambitious and not at all as lazy as I’ve been all year after I finished this project, I did a whole ‘nother ribbon corset for good measure! I didn’t chronicle the process, but here are some pictures of the finished product:

Pink and red satin ribbon corset

Pink and red satin ribbon corset

7 comments on “Ribbon Corsets: Ideas Magazine competition entry

  1. Helen Fratena says:

    How gorgeous! I want to make one. Any patterns or instructions out there? What are the advantages/disadvantages if the ribbon corset over the other fabric ones?

    • Minki says:

      I used the “Corsets: Historical Patterns & Techniques” by Jill Salen pattern for the ribbon corset that is featured here: https://ladywilhelmine.wordpress.com/2011/09/11/corset-of-the-month-ribbon-corset/. I used the pattern as is, but the truth is that it really needs to be adapted for the more modern figure (our waists just aren’t as naturally narrow as it used to be and we’re getting taller). Jo from Bridges on the Body does some very thoughtful and in-depth tutorials that covers a lot of issues yo umight encounter when sewing a corset. Some of her ribbon corset posts can be found here: http://bridgesonthebody.blogspot.com/search/label/ribbon

      As for pros and cons? I don’t think it’s as simple as that. Making a corset with ribbon as opposed to fabric results in a completely different corset that really can’t be compared to it’s fabric counterparts. Some simple things that come to mind that is the ribbons are left free along their width and are only joined to the corset at the front, back and sides. This arguably results in a corset with slightly more “movement”. The ribbons are also sewn together in horizontal lines, where a normal fabric underbust would have have the panels sewn together vertically, which could make a difference in the amount of pressure the garment can endure and how tightly it can be laced. Also be sure to use the right kind of ribbon: single-sided satin (like the ones I used) would have more give and be more prone to pulling out of shape than Petersham ribbon would.

  2. Wilhelmine Pool says:

    Stunning.
    Ideas Mag’s mistake – think they are more into the crocheted baby bibs kind of thing

    XXXXX

  3. Julia Zelg says:

    I love corsets, I have a collection 🙂 O don’t know if I can post this here, but every week I record a new video of me singing and I always use corsets 🙂 This is this week’s video 🙂 Unconditionally by Katy Perry: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9cxSNTJLr4U&feature=youtu.be&a

    http://:www.juliazelg.com

  4. Miss Pepper says:

    How much ribbon did you use? i want to make one, so i need to know how much to buy (well,approximmately, at least)

    • Minki says:

      Miss Pepper, I used approximately 10 meters…or so. That should be more than enough, as I made some mistakes and some panels needed to be cut twice. Also keep in mind that you will need extra ribbon if you want embellishments to be the same fabric as the corset.

Leave a Reply

